Daegu Metro’s New Monorail in Action! (Line 3)

Finally, it’s running, and I took a ride. The Disneyland Daegu Monorail!

Daegu-Monorail-Line3-in-motion

In fact, I didn’t realize that it was free today (Saturday), that regular services hasn’t yet begun… I just knew that I was in the neighborhood and I needed to get to school, and I should be able to transfer effortlessly to the subway that goes to Keimyung.*

Daegu-Monorail-Line3-crowdedtrain

Apparently lots of folks were taking a free joy-ride at 11:30am on a beautiful Saturday… can’t say I blame them.

(I LOVE trains!)

There’s even a designer train (poor photo here, but it has children’s anime action figures and such painted on the sides… and as I happens, I boarded at the Children’s Park station).

Daegu-Monorail-Line3-designertrain

The part they prefer not to talk about is that they ended up purchasing (japanese) technology for the train sets, but they are hopeful that as the system gets busy and they need more train sets, they can buy domestic.

Daegu-Monorail-Line3-Hitachi

apologies for any discoloration and other quality issues in the photos, I was working quickly (yes, really had to get to school) with the old smartphone and available lighting (too much shiny stuff around for flash).

* Because Line 3 was free today, the direct access to other lines was closed, so had to walk outside and enter the subway from street level. No problem!

Leave a Reply

